03 May 2013

The Habit of Winning

We're delighted that Ramnarayan S. Rawat's Reconsidering Untouchability: Chamars and Dalit History in North India (Permanent Black, 2012) has received an honourable mention in the 2013 Association of Asian Studies Bernard S. Cohn Book Prize. This coveted prize  "honors outstanding and innovative scholarship across discipline and country of specialization for a first single-authored monograph on South Asia". Past winners include Farina Mir, whose book The Social Space of Language, was also published by Permanent Black.

Reconsidering Untouchability earlier won the Joseph W. Elder Prize in the Indian Social Sciences, American Institute of Indian Studies. It is copublished by Indiana University Press, and the selection committee for the Cohn prize comprised John Kelly (Chair), Daud Ali, and Leela Fernandes.

No comments: